Baltimore Designer

This interview is with Kay Gladden. She is from Baltimore City and only 28 years old. She designs her own sneakers to make them one of a kind. Remember my DIY post about my old sneakers?

What made you make jewelry?

Actually, I design sneakers. I create one of a kind rhinestone sneakers for my hip hop shows. I also design for close friends and aquaintences.”

Why do you enjoy it?

I enjoy creating these one-of-a-kind sneakers because I love sneakers. As a woman, I would like to be the only woman with this style shoe. Realistically, it is very expensive to obtain one of a kind anything, so I buy my favorite sneakers, and I jewel each pair to be one of a kind. I love the idea having the exclusive sneaker.”

What inspires your ideas?

“Bling, ice, and very glamorous objects. Something exquisite or absolutely stunning.”

What do you say to students pursuing fashion?

“Don’t quit your day job.  “Fashion is a very tough and competitive field to flurish in and it can be very “cut throat”. However, if you set your goals and don’t lose the passion and the drive for fashion, you can get there. It will take a huge commitment: hard work, dedication and passion. It’s just like Al Sharpten said recently,” you only get back what you deposit”.”

Leave a Reply

