Teen Vogue

I’m so happy to present a classmate to the world because she was able to go to Teen Vogue’s FashionU this fall in NYC.

Kara Manos, 21, from Chevy Chase, MD,  goes to Towson University with me and she is a Senior working on her Journalism and New Media major. She has her own blog and is an editor for College Magazine.

Manos on left

How did you find out about the Teen Vogue Fashion University?

 I found about about TV Fashion U through their magazine. I think it was advertised in a summer issue and it worked out because the application deadline was Aug. 1 so I got my application in on time.

What did u hv to do to get in?

The application consisted of questions like, what are your career aspirations? Where do you see yourself in 10 years? What’s your personal style? Who are you inspired by? etc. They also had [me] submit a couple photos and any sketches or anything fashion related we have done.

How helpful was this trip for you, wat did u learn about the most who else could be interested in this type of event?

The biggest thing I gained from this experience was networking. Meeting the right people and talking to the professionals who have made it to what I wanna be. The trip itself is also really inspiring as well. Just being there made me wants to not only [to] blog about it but work on my resume and send it out to employers. I haven’t even graduated yet. This event was definitely geared toward fashion students who want to break into the fashion industry, design, styling, etc. Also for journalism students, and even marketing and advertising, the business side of the magazine).

Who did u get to meet?

I got to meet Eric Daman, the head costume designer for Gossip Girl and now creative director for Charlotte Russe. Amy Astley, the editor in chief of Teen Vogue plus many editors for the magazine. Julia Frakes, for those who don’t know her she’s a very well-known blogger who now writes for Paper Magazine. And while I didn’t formally meet Diane Von Furstenberg, I’d like to say I basically did because I listened to her speak but she being in her presence was cool enough.

Did u make new friends? maybe a roomate?

Yes! I actually went up to the event with my friend from home because we both applied but I definitely made a lot of new “fashion blogger” friendships. My friend and I stayed at The Carlton.. we were like 10 blocks from Times Square.

Just for kicks, how would you describe you style?

My personal style is really hard to describe because I feel like I can get into these moods where I’m super glam one day and then the next you’ll see me in very polished outfits. I’d like to stay I’m very classic with some type of twist. My style icon is Audrey Hepburn, but I’m really loving this new glam rock with the studs and everything! You will definitely see me taking more fashion risks.

Leave a Reply

